“Everything happens for a reason”

We’ve all heard that quote so many times, and some people believe it and some people don’t. I believe that everything happens for a reason, and that everyone is here for a reason, and that God’s got a plan for every single person out there, whether or not we have a clue what that is.

This past weekend I went to Ashland, WI with my grandma and best friend Claire. My grandma planned it and had a few different things that she was really set on doing, and just didn’t want to go alone (it’s a 4 hour drive), so I invited Claire who I have barely spent any time with in the past few weeks, and we road tripped it with gma.

Honestly I wasn’t sure how it was going to go. I love my grandma dearly, but I didn’t realize that I wasn’t going to be able to do all the things I wanted to do and show Claire before we left. I just reminded myself to go with the flow, because this weekend was about my grandma getting to see the people she’s known and loved for decades. It was so much easier to get over myself when I saw just how happy she was to see all her friends and friends-that-are-so-close-they’re-practically-family. It made my heart so full!

While we were there, we went to church (of course), and I got to hear a convicting message that has been really on my mind even before I heard it. Then later on Sunday, there was an all-church picnic/baptism service/baby dedication/member induction/missionary commission (so basically an everything service) at the home that we were staying at. We sang the song “Christ is Enough for Me” (which always hits home) and it just served as such a great reminder that spoke to my heart. Then on the way home with my grandma and Claire, my gma and I had some really good conversation as she listened and sang to her traditional Jesus music loud & proud. That woman is on fire for life and is so passionate about people and I’m so blessed that God gave her to my family, she is such a gift.

This weekend was just so good to get away, and not do anything too crazy. I wasn’t sure why I was going with my grandma other than because I don’t get to see her a lot and I love Ashland, but I think God had something else in mind for that weekend:
I literally had to de-plug, there was no cell service or wifi anywhere, so I had to get away from my phone and spend time in the present. The message really spoke to my heart, the worship was deep. God wanted me there this weekend to remind me that He’s working, He’s active, and He’s pursuing me as I’m trying to pursue Him in this world.

His timing and His reasons are different than ours, but He’s got a much better plan for us than we could ever imagine. ❤

Leave a Reply

